Question: What Are The 11 Protected Classes?

How do I file a complaint against my employer in Colorado?

If you have additional questions, you may contact the Division via phone at 303-318-8441 or 1-888-390-7936 (toll free).

You may also visit our website at or email

The Division is located at 633 17th Street, Suite 600, Denver, Colorado 80202-2107..

What is an example of illegal discrimination?

Examples of Housing Discrimination Sexual Harassment. Refusal to Provide Services. Unfair Lending Practices. Misrepresenting the Availability of Housing.

Who does Title VII not apply to?

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42 USC section 2000d) prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex or national origin. But in order to state a claim, the plaintiff must be an employee.

Which class is protected under under Colorado Fair Housing and not the federal Fair Housing?

Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. Although some interest groups have tried to lobby to include sexual orientation and marital status, these aren’t protected classes under the federal law, but are sometimes protected by certain local state fair housing laws.

What are protected traits?

In employment law, a trait that may not be the basis of employment decisions. Under federal law, protected characteristics include race, color, national origin, religion, gender (including pregnancy), disability, age (if the employee is at least 40 years old), and citizenship status.

What is not protected under Title VII?

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 is a federal law that protects employees against discrimination based on certain specified characteristics: race, color, national origin, sex, and religion. Under Title VII, an employer may not discriminate with regard to any term, condition, or privilege of employment.

What is legally protected status?

Protected Status is a Legally Defined Term. Unlawful discrimination is conduct that denies or limits a person’s full and equal access to participate in, or benefit from education and/or employment programs, services or activities because of decisions made on the basis of that person’s protected status(es).

Are females a protected class?

Protected Class: The groups protected from the employment discrimination by law. These groups include men and women on the basis of sex; any group which shares a common race, religion, color, or national origin; people over 40; and people with physical or mental handicaps.

Can you fire someone in a protected class?

Protect Against Wrongful Termination Suits Just because an employee or job candidate is in a protected class doesn’t mean they’re immune from termination or that you must hire them. But, be careful that you’re not discriminating or giving anyone the perception that you’re discriminating.

What age is considered protected class?

40 yearsThe Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA) protects certain applicants and employees 40 years of age and older from discrimination on the basis of age in hiring, promotion, discharge, compensation, or terms, conditions or privileges of employment.

What are the 10 protected characteristics?

What are protected characteristics?age.disability.gender reassignment.marriage and civil partnership.pregnancy and maternity.race.religion or items…

Is age a legally protected status?

The Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) forbids age discrimination against people who are age 40 or older. It does not protect workers under the age of 40, although some states have laws that protect younger workers from age discrimination.

Does Title VII protect LGBT?

LGBT employment discrimination in the United States is illegal under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964; employment discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity is encompassed by the law’s prohibition of employment discrimination on the basis of sex.

What are protected classes in the US?

Applicants, employees and former employees are protected from employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, sexual orientation, or gender identity), national origin, age (40 or older), disability and genetic information (including family medical history).

What are the five protected classes under Title VII?

Title VII prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex and national origin. The Civil Rights Act of 1991 (Pub.

What are the 2 Colorado protected classes?

Protected Classes in Coloradorace.color.national (including pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions)disability.age (40 and older)citizenship status, and.More items…

What are the 7 protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:Race.Color.Religion or creed.National origin or ancestry.Sex.Age.Physical or mental disability.Veteran status.More items…

What is public accommodation discrimination?

In general, public accommodations discrimination happens when someone is denied access to the facilities or services of a business or other public place, including local and state government.